Quick Thought – Thursday, July 6, 2017

Read

Psalm 47

Clap your hands, all peoples!
    Shout to God with loud songs of joy!
Job 32:4

Reflect

When I was a teenager, I one day discovered that there were people who actually spent all of their time making music that praised and glorified Jesus Christ. Up to that point, the thought had never occurred to me. Like most kids my age, I was into the music that ended up on Casey Kasem’s charts.

But my Mom took me to a Christian bookstore (another amazing discovery), and I ventured into the music section. In front of me were dozens of LPs and cassettes (because this was in the days of the dinosaurs before there were CDs, and definitely before the invention of MP3s and digital downloads). Keith GreenPetraSweet Comfort BandSecond Chapter of ActsGlad. (The band, not the trash bag.)

All of these and more ended up on my record player and in my cassette deck. I found that listening to Christian music could be fulfilling. But more importantly, I learned that praising God was not only important – it was commanded. The God who made the world from nothing and who holds everything together desires and demands our praise. It’s why He made us – so that we could be in a relationship together. He even made a way for us to spend eternity together, if only we’ll accept His Son, Jesus, as our Savior.

Today, I’m still listening to Christian music, though my playlist is more likely to include NewsboysChris TomlinSteven Curtis ChapmanTenth Avenue Norththe Afters and Kristian Stanfill. (Though as I write this, I’m listening to Glad!) But what hasn’t changed is that I’m still praising God, because He still deserves it. Regardless of our circumstances, God is worthy of my and your praise.

Today, spend some time letting God know how important He is to you. Tell Him just what He means to you, and maybe even lift a song of praise His way.

Reflection copyright © 2017 Doug DeBolt.

Scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version® (ESV®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

About Doug DeBolt

Capnpen is a writer who was a newspaper and magazine journalist in a previous life. A college journalism major, he now works as an administrator, but gets his writing fix by blogging about a variety of topics, including politics, religion, movies and television. When he's not working or blogging, Capnpen spends time with his family, plays a little golf (badly) and loves to learn about virtually anything.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

