Quick Thought – Sunday, June 25, 2017

Read

Psalm 18

The Lord is my rock and my fortress and my deliverer,
    my God, my rock, in whom I take refuge,
    my shield, and the horn of my salvation, my stronghold.
Psalm 18:2

Reflect

It’s amazing how many kids have enjoyed building pillow forts in their bedrooms, or in the living room. It’s kind of like a right of passage for childhood. Unless you’ve built a pillow fort, you haven’t really been a child.

At least it was that way for pretty much every child in my family, including my own child. When I was little, I used to enjoy folding out our sleeper sofa and then using the sofa cushions to make the walls of my fort. It was always a challenge to come up with new ways to place the cushions so that the fort was completely enclosed, with maybe a small opening so that I could still see the TV from my perch deep within the sofa.

It was just a sofa, but somehow, there was a sense of safety in my fort. My daughter has had the same experience, and she’s had fun building forts as a babysitter with other children. We like to be safe, even in our make-believe worlds.

The writer of today’s Psalm knew that, and he used the image of a fortress to show just how safe he felt in the Lord’s care. He said that the Lord is his “rock,” “fortress,” “deliverer,” “refuge,” “shield” and “stronghold.” All of these words are terms that describe safety and security. And that’s exactly how the Lord wants us to see Him.

When you consider that God is the maker of everything, including us, it should be pretty easy to feel safe in His care. After all, if God can make us, then why couldn’t He keep us safe and secure? When we place our full faith and trust in Him, we will find that there’s no more safe and secure place than in the Lord’s hands.

Today, spend some time thanking God for His love and care for you. Remember that your security is in the Lord, and pray that He will hold you safely in His arms whenever you seek Him.

Reflection copyright © 2017 Doug DeBolt.

Scripture quotations are from The Holy Bible, English Standard Version® (ESV®), copyright © 2001 by Crossway, a publishing ministry of Good News Publishers. Used by permission. All rights reserved.

About Doug DeBolt

Capnpen is a writer who was a newspaper and magazine journalist in a previous life. A college journalism major, he now works as an administrator, but gets his writing fix by blogging about a variety of topics, including politics, religion, movies and television. When he's not working or blogging, Capnpen spends time with his family, plays a little golf (badly) and loves to learn about virtually anything.
This entry was posted in Faith and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

